You never regret a workout

I think it’s Joe Wicks that says that you never regret a workout.

Some graffiti along the river

Last week, I was sitting on the sofa on Sunday afternoon, feeling a bit tired, contemplating what dinner might be and feeling slightly guilty for not doing a run.

I’ve been trying to rebuild my streak of perfect Freeletics weeks that I broke when I had Covid, and I was in danger of losing it after just two weeks again.

So I forced myself up off the sofa and put on my running gear. As soon as I’d put it on I knew that I had to run, because I’m just going to take it all off again am I?

And so I ran. In the late afternoon golden sunlight along the river. A 1km run, followed by an interval run of 10x 400m with a 2 minute gap in between each. It was great. I felt refreshed, energised and thankful for having got some outside air. In fact it was probably the best run I’ve done in a while. I was able to push myself a little harder on the interval runs and then walk for a couple of minutes taking in the city around me. Very nice.

And then I could feel content returning to the sofa to watch TV and eat lasagne. A good end to the week.

Golden hour

You never regret a workout

Leave a comment