Cancelling my gym membership and other January activities

hxolrtqo_f0-dan-carlson

So. 2017. Here we are.

Have to admit, I did stop training over Christmas. And only started again the other day.

My final pre-Christmas workout was Uranos, where I beat my PB, and then on Christmas Eve (when I was sick of my family already and itching to do something physical) I knocked out a quick Athena.

I’d kind of forgotten that I can break with Coach every now and then and do those super-quick, no equipment workouts wherever and whenever. It felt quite nice to do a quick 7 minute workout, just to get the blood flowing.

And then post Christmas I was straight back to it with KENTAUROS. Jeez. I did it on a beautiful, sunny, freezing cold day in the park. Even though it was cold I was sweating buckets by the end. Blimey that workout tires me out. And my legs were aching for days.

On Monday evening, just before going to back to work after the break, I did Artemis. I quite like this workout – 50 burpees, 50 pull-ups, 100 pushups, 150 squats, 50 burpees. I beat my PB, but no star (still not mastered the pull-up).

The other thing I did this week was cancel my gym membership. Probably the opposite of what everyone else is doing at this time of year. £17 per month, and I wasn’t really using it. I’ve decided that wherever possible I will exercise at home or outdoors. And that there shouldn’t really be any excuses about that. I don’t need the gym.

So I’d better crack on with tackling that 2017 bucket list

 

Cancelling my gym membership and other January activities

One thought on “Cancelling my gym membership and other January activities

  1. KP says:

    I’d give you credit for not *completely* stopping training over Christmas since you banged out a couple of workouts. I think even doing a couple of sparse quick workouts keeps your body tuned much better than nothing. Which is what I did, nothing. Back in with 3/4 Venus and it’s amazing how much can be lost during a break. Point being, *clap clap* for not blowing off the holiday training completely.

    I don’t have a gym membership but I did pull the trigger on the Nutrition coach to give it a try. Haven’t started yet but I’ve heard good things. The only downside being the time required to shop and prep the meals.

    Happy New Year and keep up the great work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

