How do you do your burpees?

 

photo: YouTube
 
I had a revelation today. After quite a few weeks doing burpees as part of Freeletics, in the middle of doing 3x Metis, I suddenly thought ‘Am I doing this all wrong?’
I can do the first few moves, down to plank position and then… Maybe I’ve been taking it too easy?

You see, I didn’t realise you could do it in the following ways: a strict push-up, a push-up from the knees, or not a push-up at all (i.e., just push yourself up from the ground as you would if you weren’t working out).

I’ve been doing the push-up from the knees. I did the rest of Metis with strict push-ups, and boy did it slow me down. And I certainly felt it in my arms at the end.

When I checked the Freeletics video after my workout it seems that they recommend the push-up from the knee. So maybe I’ve been doing it right all along.  Although if I want to work on my arms and chest, maybe those strict push-ups are a good idea.

How do you do your burpees?

How do you do your burpees?

2 thoughts on “How do you do your burpees?

  1. Matthew says:

    I’m pretty sure I do them like in the video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k6rTuwsmqBc). I know it looks like he’s doing a press-up from his knees, but actually I think he’s using momentum to ‘throw’ himself up from the tips of his feet. It does involve the arms, obviously, but but also core and back muscles to get that momentum, so it doesn’t work the arms like a press-up would. I don’t like the idea of a press-up burpee – strict or knees – because that would be slow me right down, and I feel like a burpee is meant to be mainly high intensity cardio. But each to their own.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

